Be Fast

No One Likes to Wait

 

glass-24190_960_720

Taken from Pixabay.com

When a boss or client asks for something to be done, they want it done yesterday. Nobody likes to wait to get their moneys worth back, that’s why amazon prime’s two- day shipping is so popular. I was reading this article the other day, it explained the importance of entrepreneurs being impatient. I never thought of it as a necessity, but reading it helped me understand their sense of urgency. It also reinforced that to be a successful promoter, you must be fast acting and produce fast results.

 

 

From the Far Right Lane to the Fast Lane

When I started working, I was driving in the far right lane with your grandma when I needed to be in the fast lane to keep up. As I said earlier, people are impatient especially when they are paying you to produce results.

alphabet-word-images-1298865_960_720

Taken from pixabay.com

 

Driving with the Grandmas

Near the beginning of my career (a whole 3 weeks ago), I had a meeting with my boss discussing our plans to revamp our lunch and dinner services. I told him I would make a flyer to promote it, and then I said I could give it to him by next week. He then laughed for a good ten seconds. He didn’t mean to be rude, but couldn’t imagine waiting a week for a flyer. I ended up giving him the flyer in about two days, which was still too long. I like to do these 15 things to amp my productivity up on my slow days.

Keeping Up with The Kardashians Business Life

It is a rude wake-up call when you get thrown into the fast lane, but you will catch up very quickly if you make the conscious decision to do so. When I was playing catch up, I found this article on how to make it in a fast-paced work environment.

At the beginning, I thought it would take me about a week to work on a flier. Now, when we are really busy I will make on average two designs for social media or fliers every night.

I am lucky, my boss will sit down and mentor me after almost every meeting. He reminds me that, “When you aren’t working, somebody else is.” I have lost a client before because I put off texting them till the next day, they booked with somebody else. I now respond almost immediately to any client.

Bottom Line

Bottum line is you must produce fast results. Everything you do must be immediate and good quality work. In my long career of almost a month, I have seen three people get fired. My old partner, I talked about in my first post, “Be Proactive,” and another girl who wanted to design for the bar. She would take too long to design anything and wanted to charge extra for “giving her late notice,” of only three days. I took over her job, not necessarily because I was better but because I could still produce good quality results in a short amount of time.

Quote of the Post

“Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle.” – Abraham Lincoln

Leave a Reply

